Suggestions for a tuning newbie???

misterp

Hi all, I am seriously interested in PCM tuning and wanted to hear everyone's input on the software available today. I have not done anything like this before but am eager to dive in, I just don't know exactly what is needed or where to start. I am a life-long software developer, so the electronics and logic part of this project do not scare me; "easy to use" is not an overriding concern. Cost is also secondary. What is important to me is having a package that can grow as I later tackle the challenges that come with forced induction. WAHAHAHAHA :driving:

So would anyone here suggest the better or weaker players in this market? HPTuners, Carputing, EFILive... What has or hasn't worked for you in your projects? Also before I go down the endless Google road any good resources available out there?

Thanks in advance,

Mr. P. :)

I'd say HPT (what I have) or EFILive (looked at the demo). Both seem much better than Edit to me (another lifelong hacker). HPT has some design issues, but they are workable... Mainly just frustrating, "Do it my way" GUI design and some IO stuff.

EFILIve looked very impressive and had I not already had HPT and if it was closer to the HPT price, I'd have most likely gotten it instead.

I'd say HPT (what I have) or EFILive (looked at the demo).  Both seem much better than Edit to me (another lifelong hacker).  HPT has some design issues, but they are workable... Mainly just frustrating, "Do it my way" GUI design and some IO stuff.

EFILIve looked very impressive and had I not already had HPT and if it was closer to the HPT price, I'd have most likely gotten it instead.

:thumbs: (Thanks for the review)

at this point i'd have to recomend HP Tuners. i haven't tried EFI Live yet though. that will be shortly. i'd recomend HP Tuners and a wideband. either handheld or an in car gauge.