Odd "rattling" Noise..................

Have an odd noise that just started on my truck this morning. When the truck is idling down from a "rev" of the throttle, it makes a weird noise (like a rattling exhaust) momentarily..Checked the exhaust over, and everything is nice and tight.....Had my wife work the throttle a few times while I was under the truck, and it sounds like something in the transmission......couldn't quite pinpoint the exact location. My tranny hasn't acted weird while shifting, so I'm at a loss...... It isn't a constant sound, just happens right before the truck hits idle rpms................Knowing my luck, it's something going out in the weak-a$$ tranny..............truck is an '03 with around 52,000 miles on it.........Anybody have any ideas? Would greatly appreciate the input...............Thanks!

Could be a rattling exhaust heat shield. I am no tranny expert, but if something is rattling when the transmission is in park, it probably isn't the transmission at all. There are heat shields above the muffler and near the headers/firewall. I would check those. I have had a rattling heat shield before and I could hear it immediately in the cab.

Edited by KissMySilvSS (see edit history)

Could be a rattling exhaust heat shield. I am no tranny expert, but if something is rattling when the transmission is in park, it probably isn't the transmission at all. Their are heat shields above the muffler and near the headers/firewall. I would check those. I have had a rattling heat shield before and I could hear it immediately in the cab.

I didn't even think about the heat shields near the firewall..........I'll check that out. Thanks for the input... :cheers:

You might need to pull your inner fenders out to get to them. They are very thin aluminum, so don't be afraid to bend them if they are rattling on top of something. Same with the heat shield around the muffler. Might be touching something just enough to make a rattle! Good Luck!