Camera Equipment....What Do You Have?

JF-03-SS

How about all the photographers on the site post their setups and advice of camera's so beginners would know what to look for when shopping for a camera?

Total newbie here to DSLR's but this is what I bought 3/21/11:

Model:Canon EOS Rebel T3i

Lens:EF-S 18-55mm image stabalized

Accessories:UV Filter, Circular Polarizer, Lowepro-Fastpack 100 backpack

Now: Figure out what everything means and does.

Next: Long range zoom lens.

photo-87.jpg

Took a couple pics of this crazy guy running around......Took a couple pics of this crazy

guy running around......

IMG_0032.jpg

IMG_0034.jpg

Edited by JF-03-SS (see edit history)

your dog looks like he is having fun!

He gets into this mood where he gets real low to the ground and then runs at you full speed and flies around you at the last second, its like he gets spring fever. Its wicked funny when he does it in the snow.

I have T1i with a couple lenses that I use. I have the 18 - 55mm like you, 75 - 250mm, and a 50mm fixed. I also have UV filters on them all. Overall it takes pretty nice pictures, but someday I'll upgrade to a full frame camera.

I shoot Nikon almost exclusively. Canon are very good cameras also. Since I work in a camera store I shoot with a lot of different cameras/lenses just to see how they are. There are hundreds of lenses to choose from but I would say stay with manufacturers brand unless I could shoot with it on a trial basis. Aftermarket brands tend to vary greatly. Reccommendations would depend on what you want to spend.

Some good lenses for that camera for reasonable prices:

Everday lens

Canon 18-200 f3.5-5.6 IS Around $550-600

Canon 55-200 f4-5.6 IS Around $200.250

Tamron 18-200 f3.5-6.3 LD IF Macro Around $300-400

Prime lens

Canon 100mm EF USM f2.8 Macro $475-525

Tamron 90mm f2.8 macro $500 +/-

You can probably find all of these cheaper if you dig around on-line enough. Just make sure you get U.S. warranty if you go that route.