Aftermarket Intake testing.

SSAlaska

I have been wondering if anyone has tested other types of intakes. Wouldnt we all be shooting ourselves in the foot if we didnt put as much effort in to testing more then just the Outlaw and Volant. There are several other intakes out there (K&N 77 series, AEM Brute Force, TruFlow, ect ect) and no one seems to give them any credit. Everyone seems so bent on Volant and Outlaw that no one that I know of has even looked into testing any of the others. Who is to say that the others dont produce better performance. Have we all just become so focused on the whole closed box theory that we have given up on open element straight tube intake systems? I think it would be interesting to see how some of the others perform. Dylan did some interesting testing of the Volant VS. Outlaw, Anyone else wonder how the Brutte Force would hold up? Now I am no expert, But does the volume of air that is moved by a closed box system compair to the volume moved by an exposed filter with a straight 4 in. tube? Are we cutting the actual volume of air for temperature? I understand the air will not be as cool as with a closed box system, But how big of differnce in temperature are you going to get? Is it significant? And if we are getting cooler air but less of it, Is that better then warmer air and more of it? If you do some reading it takes substantial heat to reduce oxygen content in air. I would test them the same way Dylan did, Myself. However, I do not have access to a GTECH or the right conditions. Would anyone be interested in testing this theory for us. I am sure this is going to raise many questions. Or if you think I am a fool, and should just shut up and color tell me so. :banghead: I hope I am being clear.