Car salesman

orlando

ive thought about it too. if you know alot about vehicles it helps . but you cant be afraid to take peoples money and thats where i have a hard time. alot can be made but depending on where you work times can be rough!! and depends how the dealership works.

My wifes uncle was a car salesman for many years. A couple years before he died he started working the used car lot at a Chevy dealership. Said he should have done it 20 years earlier. That's where the money is according to him. Makes sense to me. The mark up on used cars is much higher than new which equals higher commisions. Just a thought. Good luck in whatever you do.

Its all about the hustle! My family owns several GM dealerships, I work as a salesman during the summer when I'm not at college. You just can not be afraid to talk to the customer or go the extra mile, etc. Need to be self motivated and not lazy, want the $$. Most dealerships hire salesman on commission only, some with that and a baseline salary. It all depends on the size of the dealership. Sales contests and GM contests are fun and the bonuses are nice!!

I thought about it myself, but I'm too honest. :crackup: Besides, I've worked in the back end (parts) for many years, and have seen many different type of sales people through the years. If you're a go getter in a good size dealer, you can make some bucks. What I've noticed over the years in this business are the successful ones are straight shooters, no BS, and follow through with the sale even well after the sale is made. You need to build a relationship with your customer to keep them coming back, and reffering friends, for future car/truck purchases. If you're that kind of person, then go for it. :thumbs:

P.S. Make friends with the people in the back end. (parts/service) They can help with accessories, building customer base/relations, ect.