80e question

I'm not a transmission expert, so please tell me if I'm wrong.

I've been studying up on tranny information for about 2-3 months now. Every where I look on the internet, and everyone I have talked to at tranny shop, mechanics, and a couple of hot rod shop, have said the 60e/65e will take 600-650hp max, built as good as it can be. The 80e stock can take 800-900hp depending who you ask stock, just a basic rebuild.

Say you can find a 65e built to the hilt, that can take max hp for what $2000-$2500 plus having it put in, say $2500-$3500 total.

Now i,ve found 80e rebuilt all over the place for $900-$1300,plus install about $1400-$2300 total, and conversion kits for $450-$600, , plus retuning the computer which you would have to do(or really want to do anyway) with the 65e also.

My question is why does everyone say it cost so much more to convert to 80e? Almost every where I look, I can't get it done for more money in the end, and thats for a 4wd, not a 2wd, it's cheaper. Plus you don't have to baby it, or be nervous every time you squeel the tires, or get into it.

Am I missing something? :confused:

the 80e is a bit more complicated, than that it requires addign some stuff to the computer, there is an additional speed sensor in the 80 that has to accomadated. besides that there is the hardware, new driveshafts and new crossmember, there is a company that is now making a input shaft for the x fer case that will mate with the 80, so that would be the way to go. i am looking ino tthis also there is a caompany going to be making a kit for it soon , what im waiting foris a comany making a stand alone management to make the 6l80 work

Ahh, I forgot about the drive shafts, but thats still what $300-$500.

I've found kits that have the crossmember, adapter plugs, and flywheel/tourque converter adapter, and the tailshaft and housing for $464 at transmissioncenter.net