underdrive pulleys

im looking into underdrive pulley for the ss. i have never used anything similar before and was wondering what to look for.

any recomendations. the idea behind them really makes sense to me.... i would think you would notice quite a bit with them.

i see tbyrne has ASM pulleys .... you can get the crank pulley only or you can get the crank pulley and the alternator pulley.....i would think it would be ideal to do both pulleys.... but will i have any problems with this?

anyone have them already.... i searched and didnt find much of what i was looking for.

i plan to also do electric fans in the near future once PCMforLess gets the LS1 fan kits available.

i already have his computer upgrade.... just looking for a bit more. thanks

what kind of performance will i get... did you actually feel anything?

i put on the volant this past week... and didnt get much at all from it.... im hoping to see something for the pulleys...

and it seems from what i hear... going with only the crank pulley is the way to go...

what about charging issues?

You are at the point where simple add-ons are not going to make any noticeable gains. pulleys slight maybe a throttle body also slight. You need to go up a level like converters,cams,heads

The only thing you are missing is headers. The stock ones are pretty good though you still will not get much of a gain.

yeah... ithink the computer was a major gain....

im just trying to get all i can with easy bolt ons... at this point im not ready to go into the motor at all... maybe in a year or 2.... cam heads and radix.. but for now.. i need to stay with the simple stuff.

is it even worth spending the $200 or so on the underdrive pulley or what?

You will probably notice a slight SOTP improvement with pulley and e-fans. Each one is supposed to "free up" about 10hp by reducing the load on the engine. Seems like the engine spins up a little faster and has a little more oomph in the low end.