Moving Back To Oregon

diggerdan11

So like the Title says, Im moving back to Oregon, to my home town.

I got a job offer that i could not turn down, that is more suited for my education level. The job is at JELD-WEN which is the largest Window and Door manufacturer in the world. My dad has worked for them for 25 years and my mom worked for them for 10 years. Im really excited to start a new career path.

currently I work for my cousin and i am a manager of one of his KFC restaurants. The reason i started working for KFC while i was in college was I was planning on becoming a franchise owner myself. The original plan was for my dad to pull some of his retirement money and invest in a KFC or 2. Well the original plan called for that 2 years ago, now with the economy, my dad now is saying it will be another 7 to 8 years before we can now, and there is no way i can keep working as a fast food manager for 8 more years.

I applied and interviewed for a Environmental Management position. Everyone i interviewed with liked me and they wanted me in the position, but it all came down to this test that they give to all management candidates. Well I did not do so well on a couple sections, mainly math. But i am out of practice, it has been 6 years since i really had to do math. So the offered me a lower position for the time being. I will have to brush up on my math and in 6months to a year Take the test again and hopefully move into the position that i originally wanted. For the time being its going to kinda suck, Im actually taking a pay cut plus my girlfriend is losing her job, but hopefully she can find something soon, so money wont be so tight. And in the long run it will be a smart move.