I'm really thinking about getting/making this...

SilveradoKid

With all the news of delays and lackluster performance numbers, I'm thinking of making my own SS... I'm not the most knowledgeable guy about cars (I'm a computer tech) so what I'm asking of you guys is for information/help/a smack on the head if I'm going about this is the wrong way...

Here is what I've spent the past 90 or so minutes putting together:

1)BASE 2003 Silverado 1500

5300 w/ 285 HP & 325 lb/ft(+$1,495)

4spd auto (+$1,095)

cheap bumper (-$100)

$21,875

2)Whipple S/C (Black)

+ ~143HP & ~163 lb/ft

$3400

3)Edelbrock Shorty Headers

Summit PN: EDL-6500

$280

Dynomax Hi-Flo Cat

$140

Flowmaster cat-back

(dual side outlet)

Summit PN: FLO-17263

$290

+~50HP & 50lb/ft? (this is a (very)slightly-educated/shot-in-the-dark guess of the gain for the whole exhaust system)

I don't know where to start for a new transmission that could handle the HP/TQ, I want an auto 'cause this is going to by my daily driver and a stick is no fun in LV traffic. I don't know what to look for for a new rear end(differential)... would I need a new one or would one of the options from chevy(3.73 or 3.42) be good/strong enough? (I looked around and guessed that a new tranny would be around $1,000 and how does $1,200 for a tough Diff sound? These are average prices I got from looking around the net, I don't even know if I was looking at the right stuff 1/2 the time...) Then the wheels and tires, I don't want a set of dubs, IMO they are for Show and not Go, and I figure spending no more than $2000 on wheels and tires is a good limit, or I'm I delusional? I want a tonneau cover, found one I like for $700 (painted). I don't know what it costs to get a truck lowered, but a kit from Jegs.com is about $400 for a 2"front 3"back drop (plenty for me, don't wanna scrape on speed bumps or lane markers ;) ) And I'd like to throw on a nifty RamAir Hood I found for $600...

These are the numbers I cooked up: