Mcgaughy's 2/4 Lowering Kit

1vegarick

Hello fellow SS owners! I wanted to provide some information on my recent install of a McGaughy's 2"/4" lowering kit for my 2003 SS Silverado. I P/N: 11004 which included their 2" drop spindles for the front and their hangers & shackles for the rear. The rear can be dropped either 2, 3 or 4" with this kit.

Small admin note… I consider myself to me mechanically inclined so, please read this with that in mind. I have a V-8 Vega that I built myself (hence my username), have thousands of dollars in tools, race motocross, and recently just built my own shop (ran out of room in the garage) for all my toys. I am also an Army Engineer that just returned from Iraq about a month ago. Not bragging, just letting ya'll know I'm not a tard! As I said, this is my opinion and observations from MY install. Individual results may vary as they say on the Nutri-System commercial. I will attempt to only address those areas that are not "no-brainers".

This job was a handful and at several times considered taking it to a shop if I had to do it again. It took 2 full days… and mean "full" days to complete this. It would have cost a small fortune had I taken it somewhere else hence, the decision to do it myself. The company may have won awards at SEMA for the design of this product but, they surely did not "evaluate" the installation process. There is a 1 page set of instructions for the front, a 1 page for the rear spring hangers, and a 1/3 page for the shackles. It looked quite easy (initially) as I have had longer instructions for programming the clock on my VCR. If you don't already own a maintenance manual for your truck, now is the time to go and get one. I was reluctant at first but, I would not have been able to complete this modification without one.