Some Free Mod's...

lucky7_93021

I was looking around for some easy mods that are cheap and easy to do over a weekend and found these. What do you guys think.... worth it or not??? Any help or just B.S.???

1) T.B. Coolant By-Pass.

This seems like the easiest thing to do and I live in Southern Cali so the "cold" doesn't really apply here. I was also thinking about putting some kind of valve assembly in the mix so I could switch back and forth if I were going to colder weather.

2) Shortening the EGR valve in the T.B.

Nothing to buy and seems pretty easy do do.... Seems like it may hurt more than help but I'm no expert... any ideas? It's supposed to lessen the restriction of air flow through the throttle body.

3) PCV mod.

Made with parts from the local auto store. Supposed to eliminate oil consumption into the Intake Manifold by re-working the connection to the T.B. Such consumption causes build up and other nastiness. Thought????

I'm still looking for more fun and cheap mod's for the weekend. Any ideas would be great!

Thanks!!!!

I have done the following free (or almost free) mods:

1) TB bypass - helps keep intake air cooler, esp since our IAT sensor is in the MAF (<$5 for barbed union and hose clamps)

2) ram air - run a duct from the brake vent in the bumper to your intake... several posts on this - do a search (<$20 for ducting, fasteners)

3) PCV catch can - collects about 1/2 to 1 ounce of fluid after 2500-3000mi., much better than older LS1's like zippy said (<$10 for fuel line and throw-away fuel filter)

4) drilled muffler - put holes in internal baffle to allow the "dummy" exhaust exit pipe to flow (link) (free :D )

5) port/polish TB - (careful :uhoh: ) do some research before trying this one... too much can be bad. (free :D )

Should take a few hours for each item above, including research and shopping.

:cheers: