NEW TO PROGRAMMING

evandostert

I am new to tuning engines.  Which software should I start with.  I want the ability to use the computer port on the truck and not have to remove the pcm everytime I need a tune.

Really, for our trucks, currently only two exist mainstream, LS1 Edit and HPTuners.

LS1 Edit was the first on the scene years back. You buy the 1st licence for $550, add additional licence for $150. Every individiual PCM requires a licence. $50 handling fee to upgrade a pre-existing cable for more VINs (4 Max VINs per cable). Software updates outside of your original window cost extra. Edit is only a programmer, however they are Beta testing a simple scanner, but no where along the same lines as EFI Live. Our trucks are currently non-in-vehicle tuning. This means a bench cable needs to be bought or built (around $100) to do the tuning. The PCM doesn't need to be removed, just one of the harnesses to allow the bench cable to connect.

HPTuners is new to the scene within the last 6 mo or so. The program incorperates an editor and a scanner for the price. Their licence works for any vehicle of the same year and similar body style. ie- all 03' trucks are grouped together, all 04' suburbans are grouped together, etc. So far, I think software updates are free. Supports in-vehicle tuning.

Also, EFI Live, predominantly know for the best logging only software in the biz, is releasing Flashscan soon. Similar to both Edit and HPT, Flashscan will incoperate all the strengths with very few of any weaknesses. If I were to do it over again, this is where my money is going. Actually, I will buy it when it's available anyway, and ditch Edit.

HPT is currently the cheepest way to get into programming and seems like a nice package. I have used both, and they all have ups and downs. I learned on Edit, so I prefer my choice, however HPT seems like a nice package as well.

Again, I would wait a month or so for Flashscan, period.