Supermaxx headers!!!

BeefTip

I am thinking about getting a set supermaxx headers with hi-flow cats. I really have limited mechanical knowlege :banghead: (CAI,pcm, stuff like that-no welding) and i was wondering if it is very dificult to install this system. I am a novice and i was wondering what tools i would need besides a few sockets and wrenches. I really dont have acces to a lift so if that is involved i will have to rethink doing it myself. Any recommendations?

I did mine on jack stands and took the front wheels off. to take the stock system out you are gonna have to lower the tranny crossmember a little to work the stock piping out, unless you wanna cut it. :smash: You need short and long 15mm soket for collector, 10mm for header to head and 15 openend wrench for one of the pipes that meets up to the stock system. Put Penatrating oil on the 02 sensors before removing 21 or 22mm wrench. Lots of long extension to tighten the top collector bolts. hope that helps :thumbs:

thanks, that was about as precise as it can get. As far as lowering the tranny crossmember, is there really much involved in that. I imagine the new exhaust is really just a reverse of taking the old manifolds off. I had a z28 w/lt1 and I had some longtubes installed but it was an extremely tight fit and the steering column had to be moved to get them in. That install sounds a little to easy to be true, of course, everything i try to do I end up getting slowed down somewhere.