Husky Install

vdrumright

My Husky Mud Guard Installation

I debated for a week about if I wanted to put these on or not. The 3 inches of snow we got the last couple of days along with the salt on the roads and the white film on my SShelped me to decide.

I picked up my Husky Mud Guards today and thought that since I like to post pics of modifications that I do to my SS, that I would share my experience with this installation.

Before I get started I want to make one thing clear. I am not a bodyman and painter by trade I am a Construction Worker. There are probably better ways to do what I'm going to do, but I have always tried to do things myself. So don't take what I do as the proper or professional way to do this.

The first thing i did was hold one of the mud guards at it's mounting location to get a feel of how it looks. After seeing it in place I decided to trim the lower section on the mud guards off. Since my SS is lowered I decided it would probably be a better look.

9.jpg

Here is a pic the mudguard showing what I trimed off. I used the rolled mould line as my guide for the cut. I used an utility knife to score my cut line then went over it until I was all the way through. I though that this method with give me the cleanest cut.

Below is a closer pic of the mud guard after the cut.

10.jpg

As I was holding the mud guard in place on my front fender well I notice that there is an extra amount of the plastic that extends into the fender well past the fender lip mounting points. I will be test fitting the fronts guards at which time I will mark the excess material and trim it to fit the lip exactly. I'll post a pic when this is done.

Moving on. After I trimmed the lower section of all four guards, I used a sponge block sander to smooth and shape the cut edges. Next I sanded the entire surface area of the guard that I plan to paint.

11.jpg