Dex Cool Vs. Ethylene Glycol

perk03z06

I'm an ASE GM Tech at the local dealer, You'll never flush 100% of the old out, without complete teardown. It will GUM up when mixed. DexCool has lubricant properties that the green does not. I would highly advise not switching. There is no benefit one, way or another.

I'm an ASE GM Tech at the local dealer, You'll never flush 100% of the old out, without complete teardown. It will GUM up when mixed. DexCool has lubricant properties that the green does not. I would highly advise not switching. There is no benefit one, way or another.

But ... I've also been advised by a GM tech that Dex destroys aluminum ... & I think if I keep a close eye on the pH level (NEVER less than 10) ... I'll be OK ... please advise ... he recommended flushing out & replacing with ethylene glycol

I manage a small fleet of around 25 GM vehicles and have had countless GM vehicles in my family and of my own over the years and have never, never switched over to the green stuff. I have been told that putting anything but DexCool in your vehicle is detrimental to the cooling system, these vehicles were designed to run on DexCool. Save the green crap for Furds. :chevy:

Edited by Fireman31 (see edit history)

But ... I've also been advised by a GM tech that Dex destroys aluminum ... & I think if I keep a close eye on the pH level (NEVER less than 10) ... I'll be OK ... please advise ... he recommended flushing out & replacing with ethylene glycol

i really doubt that.....if you run the green anti. it could damage you cooling system from the heads, radiator, etc.