I Am Building A 408 For My Truck

Simon

After doing some reading about the 408 I decided to go that route. The truck is my DD so I need it to be quiet and fast. I will stay N/A for now but MAYBE go with a bit of N2O later on. I'd like to see some low 13's, high 12's. I've decided to go with the Eagle kit, new heads, new rockers, new lifters, new pushrods, same cam, same stall.

I'm kinda new to this engine building thing but here is what I thought:

Eagle kit 4.030 bore stroke 4.000" -2cc flat top pistons.

Patriot Stage III heads 2019 Assy 2.08"/1.60"/72cc for a CR of 10.6

Injectors don't know the size

in line fuel pump

bigger oil pump

double roller timing chain

I'm very open to suggestions especially about heads or anything.

Thanks.

Edited by Simon (see edit history)

• Replies 42
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

heads look fine, your cam will be too small. you will need 42 or greater. i ran svo 42s with are 49#ers. yousr stock oil pump is fine. a 6.0 pump is same as ls6 pump. you will want to look into Fast 90 intake. anything less will choke your motor. a 3k stall is worthless especially a truck one.

IMO i think your cam and converter will be ok since this is a DD and not a pure race engine. i can't speak on the heads, i know no experience there. quik is right on the oil pump, stay with stock or get a ported one, or port one yourself.

IMO i think your cam and converter will be ok since this is a DD and not a pure race engine. i can't speak on the heads, i know no experience there. quik is right on the oil pump, stay with stock or get a ported one, or port one yourself.

im speaking from experience my cam was easily capable of DD. that cam will be like a stock cam in stock motor. the displacement will eat it up!!! I could of went larger on the cam when i was NA. 3k is for stock motors IMHO