Dealership rant...

Black03SS_NJ

Well, let me start off by saying how much I hate service departments. I have always thought that is was a crime for GM to sell Escalades, Corvettes, and $40k SS/Denali pickups, and have them serviced by the same people who service the Geo. Any why everytime I drop off a nice car/truck does it need to go for a 20mi drive? And how is it possible that everything that goes wrong with one of my vehicles is a result of one of my modifications? Anyway, onto my point.

Finally took the SS in for warranty work today. The door hinges have been rattling due to mis-alignment from the factory. I know others have complained of similar issues. I also have the common rear window wind noise. Explained all of this, in detail, to the service manager. Got a call this afternoon, and the service department explained to me that the noise I was hearing was my new tailpipes banging around. Now I am no mechanic, but how does a tailpipe at the rear of the truck sound like wind noise by the driver's ear, or the door hinge? To top it off, you can tell that they did not even try to open either door (road salt)...they did not even try! Getting my vehicles serviced is so frustrating! I just wish there was somewhere I could trust, who would not lecture me about my mods every time I walk in... :fume:

Okay...I feel better now.

Keep searching until you find a good service department. I had very similar issues with my last truck so after buying 5 trucks from them I went elsewhere. I was very happy with my service dept. when I took my SS in. I waited for it and they stopped in numerous time to give me updates. Told me what they found and what they were doing to resolve it. It sucks that you have to do this, all service depts. should treat everyone(even the GEO buyer) with respect and take them seriously. I would complain to Chevy or GM. I hope things get resolved for you.

All I can say is I've been fortunate.