Washing Your Truck During The Winter Months.

I figure what better place to ask this question then on the SS forum. Now I already know that you should wash your vehicle during the winter months because you do not want to leave the salt and snow on the vehicle for prolong period of time. But my question is for those of us that love to wash our vehicles by hand what do you do. I hate taking my truck to car washes that have this huge belts or whatever that are hanging down. Since I just recently bought a house I know your suppose to turn off the water to your outside spigot. If we ever finally get a day above 32 degrees, do you think it would be safe if I turn the water on to my outside spigot just to wash the cars for that day? Since I am new to this single family home ownership I was wondering what everyone else does. Specially my folks out midwest who get snow all the damn time.

Edited by 05on20's (see edit history)

well i don't drive the SS in the winter at all. but i do wash my DD sierra. around here i use the car wash. our wash's around here are just a pressure wand that you spray your own vehicle off with. but we don't use salt around here so thats a plus.

I've got a freeze proof faucet for the outside one. It's got a long rod that is in the housing and it's a ball valve (90*) and from the valve body to what's outside can drain when the faucet is closed. There's a cap that you loosen and a diaphram seals with water pressure and collapses and allows the water in the body to drain, preventing freezing and bursting.

Lemme c if I can find a link...

here ya go, and they're like $20.00

and you just keep the hose and stuff inside when you're done washing the truck....

http://www.woodfordmfg.com/woodford/HowAFaucet/HowaFaucetWorks.html