Total Noob Needs Help Lowering

haul@ss

ok my dad's ss, soon to be mine, is in need of getting laid... er... lowered... just a little so that when i get 22s, it space between the tires and the fenders wont be so spacious.. after asking on ls1tech, they suggested probably a 2/4 drop kit from hotchkis or mcgauphy.. like any other, i dont want the wheels/tires to be scraping anything so will this all work out? what other opinions/advice do you all have?

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply
ok my dad's ss, soon to be mine, is in need of getting laid... er... lowered... just a little so that when i get 22s, it space between the tires and the fenders wont be so spacious.. after asking on ls1tech, they suggested probably a 2/4 drop kit from hotchkis or mcgauphy.. like any other, i dont want the wheels/tires to be scraping anything so will this all work out? what other opinions/advice do you all have?

Try a search, many on here have lowered their ss's in a couple of different ways. :thumbs:

I have the Mcgaughys drop too and am running 22's no problem here

2/4 well actually its 2/3.5 is as low as you can go on the AWD trucks before you begin to damage the front driveshaft joints. just FYI

As mentioned before you will have to cut the rear bumpstops down to about 3/4" but I also suggest that you remove the bump stop brackets and mount the bump stop directly to the frame. It will give you more travel and you will not bottom out so much.

Good luck

Jonathan

one question.. which kit do i get?!!! im looking around and seeing that others are getting the

99+-2/4 DELUXE  $384 ...

but on the pricelist, its shows:

2004 CHEVY SS TRUCK AWD 

#SS2E  $214

#SS2D  $385

is that because others are 03 ss?

one question.. which kit do i get?!!! im looking around and seeing that others are getting the
99+-2/4 DELUXE  $384 ...

but on the pricelist, its shows:

2004 CHEVY SS TRUCK AWD 

#SS2E  $214

#SS2D  $385

is that because others are 03 ss?